20. 試著以你希望別人對待你的方式來對待別人。

這是上述「金科玉律」的正面說法。

有人似乎對別人要他「成為好人」感到厭恨。不要感到驚訝,這種厭恨也許根本不是針對「成為好人」這個觀念:可能是因為這個人對這個詞有誤解。

什麼是「良好行為」呢?這方面可能有許多相互衝突的觀點和困惑讓你無所適從。一個人可能從不瞭解(即使他的老師知道)為什麼他的「操行」得到這種成績。你甚至可能早已被灌輸或已經接受了這樣的錯誤觀念:「小孩有耳無嘴」、「好孩子都是安靜不好動的」等等。

不過,有一個方法可以將這一切弄清楚,讓你完全滿意。

一直以來,在大多數的地方,人類一直尊敬和崇尚某些特定的價值觀。這些被稱為美德。1 人們認為智者、聖者、賢者和神祇皆具有這樣的特質。這些美德讓我們能區別出文明人和野蠻人的不同、混亂社會和高尚社會的不同。

要瞭解什麼是「善」,絕不需要來自上天的旨意,也不需要對哲學家厚重的大部頭進行冗長乏味的研究。透過自我啟示就能夠解決這個問題。

幾乎人人都能夠找出答案。

如果你能夠想一想你希望別人怎麼對待你,你就能夠找出什麼是人類的美德。只要想想看,你希望別人怎麼對待

首先,你可能希望別人公正地對待你:你不希望別人造你的謠,或者錯誤、苛刻地譴責你。對吧?

你很可能希望你的朋友或你的同伴對你忠誠:你不希望他們背叛你。

你會希望別人對你光明磊落,不蒙蔽也不欺詐。

你會希望別人對你公平。你會希望別人對你誠實而不欺騙你。對嗎?

你可能希望別人對你友善而不殘酷。

你可能會希望別人體貼地顧及你的權利和感受。

當你失意的時候,你可能希望別人能夠體恤你。

你會希望別人能自我控制,而不是對你破口大罵。對嗎?

如果你有任何缺點或短處,如果你犯了錯誤,你可能希望別人寬容你,而不是挑剔你。

你會比較希望別人原諒你,而不是一味訓斥和懲罰你。對嗎?

你可能希望別人對你仁慈,而不是吝嗇、卑鄙地對待你。

你可能想要別人信任你,而不是處處懷疑你。

你會比較希望受到尊敬,而不是侮辱。

你可能希望別人對你有禮貌,並且以尊重的方式對待你。對嗎?

你可能喜歡別人讚賞你。

當你為別人做事時,你希望他們能感激你。對吧?

你可能希望別人對你友好

你可能想得到某些人的

而且,最重要的是,你不希望人們做得虛情假意,你希望他們的態度真誠,做這些事是真心誠意的。

你也許還可以想到更多。可以再加上本書中所提到的守則。然而,從以上這些你可能就已經總結出什麼是美德了。

只要運用一點點的想像力就可以瞭解到,如果一個人能夠一直受到周圍的人如此對待,他的生活將處於非常快樂的狀態。如果周圍的人都如此對待他,他便不太可能對這些人產生什麼憎恨之心。

人與人之間有一種有趣的現象。2

  1. 1. 美德:人類良好行為的理想特質。
  2. 2. 現象:可觀察到事實或事件。當一個人對另一個人大聲吼叫的時候,另外一個人也會有一種吼回去的衝動。你如何對待別人,別人多半就會如何對待你:事實上,你正在向別人示範自己應該如何被對待。甲對乙小氣,乙就對甲小氣;甲對乙友善,乙就對甲友善。我肯定,你見過這種現象不斷地發生。張三痛恨所有的女人,所以女人也往往痛恨張三。李四對大家都很粗暴,因此大家也都對李四很粗暴。就算他們不敢公開表現出來,也會私下滋生怨恨,一有機會就會狠狠地報復李四。

    在電影及小說的虛構世界裡,我們看到彬彬有禮的反派角色帶著一群非常能幹的歹徒;我們也看到非常粗魯無禮的孤獨英雄。實際生活不是那樣的:真正的壞人總是粗野兇殘,他們的爪牙則有過之而無不及;背叛拿破崙和希特勒的正是他們身邊的人。真正的英雄會是最為溫文爾雅的人,他們對朋友是彬彬有禮的。

    當一個人有幸認識各行各業裡的頂尖人物,並與他們交談時,常常會驚奇地發現到,原來這些人是你所遇過最好的人。他們如此傑出的原因之一是:他們大多待人友好。而周圍的人也會反過來善待他們,甚至原諒他們的小缺點。

    好了。只要能體會出你希望別人如何對待你,你自己就可以知道人類的美德有哪些了。而且我想你會同意,這樣一來你也解開了「良好行為」到底是什麼的困惑。「良好行為」絕不是不活躍,也不是雙手放在腿上端坐,一言不發。「成為好人」可以是一種積極、充滿活力的行動。

    在憂愁、壓抑的嚴肅氣氛中,是很難找到一絲快樂的。一些老一輩的人讓我們以為,實踐美德就得過著一種憂鬱而沉悶的生活。他們往往會推斷所有的歡樂都來自於邪惡:沒有什麼比這更偏離事實的了。快樂和歡愉絕不是來自不道德!恰恰相反!只有誠實的心靈才會產生快樂和歡愉。不道德會導致無法想像的悲慘生活,充滿了痛苦和折磨。人類的美德與憂鬱毫不相干。美德是生活中光明美好的一面。

    現在,假如一個人試圖以

    公正、
    忠誠、
    光明磊落、
    公平、
    誠實、
    友善、
    體貼、
    體恤、
    自制、
    寬容、
    原諒、
    仁慈、
    信任、
    尊敬、
    禮貌、
    尊重、
    讚賞、
    感激、
    友好和愛
    來對待周圍的人,並且是真心誠意地這麼做,你想這會是什麼樣的情形呢?

    也許需要花一段時間才能看到成果,但難道你不認為,很多人也會開始以同樣的方式來對待他嗎?

    即使仍會有一些偶發的狀況--把人嚇得半死的消息、你得痛揍一頓的盜賊、上班快要遲到時卻碰到一個在快車道上開車慢吞吞的瘋子--但是,你仍會使自己與他人的關係提升到另一種新層次,這是顯而易見的。你的生存潛能將會大大地提高。自然,你的生活也會更加幸福。

    可以影響周遭人的行為。如果你還沒有達到那種程度,有一個更簡單的方式:只要每天選擇一項美德,並且在那一天專注於那一點。最後,就能實踐所有的美德了。

    這麼做除了對個人帶來好處之外,也可以幫助開啟人際關係的新紀元,不管你的力量有多小。

    投入池中的小石子所激起的漣漪,可以擴展到遙遠的彼岸。

    「試著以你希望
    別人對待你的方式
    來對待別人」,
    快樂之道
    將會更加光明。

20. TRY TO TREAT OTHERS AS YOU WOULD WANT THEM TO TREAT YOU.

This is a positive version of “The Golden Rule.”

Don’t be surprised if someone seems to resent being told to “be good.” But the resentment may not come at all at the idea of “being good”: it may be because the person factually has a misunderstanding of what it means.

One can get into a lot of conflicting opinions and confusions about what “good behavior” might be. One might never have grasped—even if the teacher did—why he or she was given the grade received for “conduct.” One might even have been given or assumed false data concerning it: “children should be seen and not heard,” “being good means being inactive.”

However, there is a way to clear it all up to one’s complete satisfaction.

In all times and in most places, Mankind has looked up to and revered certain values. They are called the virtues.1 They have been attributed to wise men, holy men, saints and gods. They have made the difference between a barbarian and a cultured person, the difference between chaos and a decent society.

It doesn’t absolutely require a heavenly mandate nor a tedious search through the thick tomes of the philosophers to discover what “good” is. A self-revelation can occur on the subject.

It can be worked out by almost any person.

If one were to think over how he or she would like to be treated by others, one would evolve the human virtues. Just figure out how you would want people to treat you.

You would possibly, first of all, want to be treated justly: you wouldn’t want people lying about you or falsely or harshly condemning you. Right?

You would probably want your friends and companions to be loyal: you would not want them to betray you.

You could want to be treated with good sportsmanship, not hoodwinked nor tricked.

You would want people to be fair in their dealings with you. You would want them to be honest with you and not cheat you. Correct?

You might want to be treated kindly and without cruelty.

You would possibly want people to be considerate of your rights and feelings.

When you were down, you might like others to be compassionate.

Instead of blasting you, you would probably want others to exhibit self-control. Right?

If you had any defects or shortcomings, if you made a mistake, you might want people to be tolerant, not critical.

Rather than concentrating on censure and punishment, you would prefer people were forgiving. Correct?

You might want people to be benevolent toward you, not mean nor stingy.

Your possible desire would be for others to believe in you, not doubt you at every hand.

You would probably prefer to be given respect, not insulted.

Possibly you would want others to be polite to you and also treat you with dignity. Right?

You might like people to admire you.

When you did something for them you would possibly like people to appreciate you. Correct?

You would probably like others to be friendly toward you.

From some you might want love.

And above all, you wouldn’t want these people just pretending these things, you would want them to be quite real in their attitudes and to be acting with integrity.

You could possibly think of others. And there are the precepts contained in this book. But above you would have worked out the summary of what are called the virtues.

It requires no great stretch of imagination for one to recognize that if he were to be treated that way regularly by others around him, his life would exist on a pleasant level. And it is doubtful if one would build up much animosity toward those who treated him in this fashion.

Now there is an interesting phenomenon2 at work in human relations. When one person yells at another, the other has an impulse to yell back. One is treated pretty much the way he treats others: one actually sets an example of how he should be treated. A is mean to B so B is mean to A. A is friendly to B so B is friendly to A. I am sure you have seen this at work continually. George hates all women so women tend to hate George. Carlos acts tough to everyone so others tend to act tough toward Carlos—and if they don’t dare out in the open, they privately may nurse a hidden impulse to act very tough indeed toward Carlos if they ever get a chance.

In the unreal world of fiction and the motion pictures, one sees polite villains with unbelievably efficient gangs and lone heroes who are outright boors.3 Life really isn’t like that: real villains are usually pretty crude people and their henchmen cruder; Napoleon and Hitler were betrayed right and left by their own people. Real heroes are the quietest-talking fellows you ever met and they are very polite to their friends.

When one is lucky enough to get to meet and talk to the men and women who are at the top of their professions, one is struck by an observation often made that they are just about the nicest people you ever met. That is one of the reasons they are at the top: they try, most of them, to treat others well. And those around them respond and tend to treat them well and even forgive their few shortcomings.

All right: one can work out for himself the human virtues just by recognizing how he himself would like to be treated. And from that, I think you will agree, one has settled any confusions as to what “good conduct” really is. It’s a far cry from being inactive, sitting still with your hands in your lap and saying nothing. “Being good” can be a very active and powerful force.

There is little joy to be found in gloomy, restrained solemnity. When some of old made it seem that to practice virtue required a grim and dismal sort of life, they tended to infer that all pleasure came from being wicked: nothing could be further from the facts. Joy and pleasure do not come from immorality! Quite the reverse! Joy and pleasure arise only in honest hearts: the immoral lead unbelievably tragic lives filled with suffering and pain. The human virtues have little to do with gloominess. They are the bright face of life itself.

Now what do you suppose would happen if one were to try to treat those around him with

justness,
loyalty,
good sportsmanship,
fairness,
honesty,
kindness,
consideration,
compassion,
self-control,
tolerance,
forgivingness,
benevolence,
belief,
respect,
politeness,
dignity,
admiration,
friendliness,
love,
and did it with integrity?

It might take a while but don’t you suppose that many others would then begin to try to treat one the same way?

Even allowing for the occasional lapses—the news that startles one half out of his wits, the burglar one has to bop on the head, the nut who is driving slow in the fast lane when one is late for work—it should be fairly visible that one would lift oneself to a new plane of human relations. One’s survival potential would be considerably raised. And certainly one’s life would be a happier one.

One can influence the conduct of others around him. If one is not like that already, it can be made much easier by just picking one virtue a day and specializing in it for that day. Doing that, they would all eventually be in.

Aside from personal benefit, one can take a hand, no matter how small, in beginning a new era for human relations.

The pebble, dropped in a pool, can make ripples to the furthest shore.

The way to happiness
is made much brighter by
applying the precept, “Try to treat
others as you would want them
to treat you.”

  1. 1. virtues: the ideal qualities in good human conduct.
  2. 2. phenomenon: an observable fact or event.
  3. 3. boor: a person with rude, clumsy manners and little refinement.