常見問題

年紀很小的學生就可以對他們引用《快樂之道》了。
什麼是「國際快樂之道基金會」?

「國際快樂之道基金會」坐落於美國加州洛杉磯附近,是一個非營利公益法人團體,負責協助在全球各地使用《快樂之道》一書與教材的個人與團體所舉辦的活動。「國際快樂之道基金會」成立於1984年,並以97種語言發行《快樂之道》

在基金會的努力下,教育人士、立法者、公司主管及權貴顯要,紛紛學習如何在自己的領域運用《快樂之道》。因此,採用這本小手冊來促進和諧與改善生活的組織非常多元化,像是:宏都拉斯國家警察、菲律賓紅十字會秘書長和種族平等議會。

「國際快樂之道基金會」的目的為何?

「國際快樂之道基金會」與其網絡的目的是,透由傳播《快樂之道》,創造一個更安全的社會。

《快樂之道》透過21條守則,為全球公民樹立了行為的準則。基於這項共識能創造出人與人,團體與團體,國家與國家和平共處的文明,沒有暴力,也沒有戰爭。

讓《快樂之道》這本書持續流向社會,是所有快樂之道活動的主要功能。書籍的散佈分送,會使個人更安全,更穩定;進而提升家庭、團體、鄰里,城鎮以及國家,並創造一個更安全的世界。

全世界有數以萬計的人加入這個國際網絡,目前已經散播了大約一億本書。

「國際快樂之道基金會」的經費來源為何?

基金會印刷並販售《快樂之道》小手冊與相關影片和出版品。所有書籍與其他教材的所收到的經費,都用於出版更多的教材,把《快樂之道》帶給全世界。支持基金會目標的個人與團體也會捐款,透過書籍的廣泛傳播,一起恢復道德感,信任與正直。

此外,對於捐款的個人與團體,基金會提供授權,讓他們可以在自己的國家,以個人設計的封面來印製手冊。

什麼是《快樂之道》?

《快樂之道》一書簡單易懂,直接引導人們做出正確選擇。它幫助個人做出正面的決定或選擇,而這些決定與選擇會影響到每個人。

《快樂之道》一書中的原則,是以一般常識為基礎,並讓人們加以應用。這本書是非常實用的現代指南,任何人都能使用這本書,穩健地帶領自己通往更快樂,更成功的人生。

《快樂之道》一書跨越文化、語言和宗教的隔閡,為所有種族、膚色與信仰的人,提供了一份道德指南。不論在何處,只要廣泛發送這本書,光是書中基於常識的原則和價值,就能降低暴力事件,並創造一個更安全的環境。

現今泰國皇家軍隊已正式採用這份常識一般的道德規範。


目前已發出多少本《快樂之道》?

目前為止,《快樂之道》已經在170多國,以97種語言發出一億多本。

《快樂之道》探討的主題是什麼?

每一章都有深入淺出的短文,簡單易懂。它以合乎常理的方式,讓人了解道德價值,可以在生活上做出明智、正確的抉擇。

《快樂之道》的作者是誰?他為何寫下本書?

《快樂之道》是由L. 羅恩 賀伯特所著。

在1970年代,西方世界的道德快速淪喪。宗教的角色愈來愈受限制,而道德與品格的標準則面臨多方挑戰。例如,美國最高法院在1980年作出裁定,表示肯塔基州某間公立學校不能張貼十誡,因為這樣會違反美國憲法第一修正案中的命令:政教分離。賀伯特先生在討論這點與當時社會現況時,曾寫到:「在一個社會中,當宗教失去影響力或不復存在,那麼,公共道德、犯罪與不寬容的問題就需要由國家一肩扛起。這時,國家就得動用刑罰和警察。然而這卻不是一個成功的做法。因為如果人天生就沒有道德、操守與自尊,那麼你用強迫的方法,也無法成功。」

看著道德標準的逐漸瓦解,和長久以來維繫道德標準的宗教力量逐漸式微,賀伯特先生寫下一份完全非宗教性,基於常識的道德守則:《快樂之道》。這本書一出版,就被許多不同種族與宗教的人當成一本道德指引,幫助自己和親朋好友。使用書中的21條基本守則,不論大人或小孩,都能了解這些道德守則如何能讓生活更快樂,並依據自己的思考與判斷,培養出道德標準。

進一步了解L. 羅恩 賀伯特

《快樂之道》是一本宗教性書籍嗎?

《快樂之道》不是宗教性書籍,「國際快樂之道基金會」是非宗教組織。

《快樂之道》也許是第一份不具宗教色彩、完全基於常識的道德守則。它是L. 羅恩 賀伯特的個人著作,不屬於任何宗教教義。任何再版或個人發送皆不代表與任何宗教組織有關係,也不代表贊助任何宗教組織。因此政府部門以及公務員,都可以用非宗教活動的名義發送本書。

許多不同的宗教團體都在使用《快樂之道》,因為它簡明有力的訊息,不但與全球大部分的宗教相通,還使其更加豐富。

因為《快樂之道》不具宗教色彩,所以任何人或公私團體都可以運用這本書,來改善生活狀況。

可以在公立學校使用《快樂之道》嗎?

可以。事實上,教育人士最先體認到這本書能陶冶學生的性格,並且改善他們的態度。《快樂之道》已在全美一萬兩千多所公私立學校推廣及使用。有超過一千兩百萬名學童參與「樹立一個好榜樣」的競賽,這個活動是以《快樂之道》中的一條守則為基礎。

一項以教師為對象所進行的調查指出,有百分之九十的老師覺得《快樂之道》道德守則的呈現方式是「良好」或「卓越」。另外,推行《快樂之道》計畫案的教師中,有百分之八十五的老師注意到:學生對道德觀的理解明顯改善。

除了美國,還有匈牙利、黎巴嫩、巴基斯坦、以色列、哥倫比亞、委內瑞拉、聖露西亞、聖基茨、柬埔寨、迦納和南非的學校,也都開始運用《快樂之道》。

有哪些單位使用或認同本書,作為他們教育或社會改善計畫的一部分呢?

各種青年與社區團體、學校、教育機構、監獄、觀護所、戒毒中心、政府、旅館和其他企業以及關懷社區的個人,都開始使用《快樂之道》和它的計畫案。

全美的「樹立一個好榜樣」競賽受到40個州的美國參眾議員與州長讚揚,也得到美國前總統雷根和柯林頓的認可和表揚。

除了美國,在南非、委內瑞拉、墨西哥、宏都拉斯、巴拿馬、奈及利亞、印尼、菲律賓、以色列、蓋亞那和其他許多國家的政府單位也推行《快樂之道》。

欲閱讀個人和團體使用《快樂之道》的成功故事,請到我們的計畫與成果

快樂之道基金會提供24本《快樂之道》小冊子,用來分送給他人。
一般人可以再版或印刷自己的《快樂之道》嗎?

可以。基金會授權給組織,個人,學校和政府機關允許他們再版,只收取些微的授權費用。人們也可以直接向基金會訂購,基金會有自己的即時印刷設備。我們可以依照個人的設計及需求,印製任何數量的手冊。

欲索取免費的資訊套組(包括一本 《快樂之道》與介紹快樂之道計畫案的DVD),點選此處

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

From a very early age, students can be introduced to The Way to Happiness.
What is The Way to Happiness Foundation International?

Based near Los Angeles, California, The Way to Happiness Foundation International is a nonprofit, public benefit corporation that assists the activities of individuals and groups around the world who use The Way to Happiness book and materials. The Way to Happiness Foundation International was founded in 1984 and publishes The Way to Happiness in 97 languages.

Through the Foundation's work, educators, legislators, corporate executives and dignitaries learn to implement The Way to Happiness in their own respective spheres. Accordingly, those adopting the booklet in the name of harmony and better living now include organizations as diverse as the National Honduras Police, the security-general of the Philippine Red Cross and the Congress of Racial Equality.

What is the purpose of The Way to Happiness Foundation International?

The purpose of The Way to Happiness Foundation International and its network is to create a safer society, accomplished through distribution of The Way to Happiness.

Through its twenty-one precepts, The Way to Happiness sets a standard of conduct for the citizens of the world. This agreement then creates a civilization, a place where individuals and groups and countries are able to get along with each other without violence and wars.

A continual stream of books out into the society is the primary function of all The Way to Happiness activities. Distribution of the book makes a safer, more stable individual and thereby family, group, neighborhood, city, state, nation and world.

Tens of thousands of people worldwide are part of the international network that has distributed some 100 million books.

How is The Way to Happiness Foundation funded?

The Foundation prints and sells copies of The Way to Happiness and related videos and publications. All funds received for books and other materials go toward the production of more materials and the distribution of The Way to Happiness across the globe. Funding also comes from the contributions of private individuals and organizations that support the aims of the Foundation in restoring morality, trust and decency through wide distribution of the book.

In exchange for a fee, the Foundation also issues licenses for individuals or corporations to reprint the booklet in their own country with their own designed cover.

What is The Way To Happiness book?

The Way to Happiness is a simple, straightforward and direct guide to good choices. It helps individuals make positive decisions or choices, and those decisions and choices have an effect on everyone.

The principles found in The Way to Happiness are grounded in common sense and written for application. This book is a truly practical and modern guide that anyone can use to confidently steer his or her way to a happier, more successful life.

Providing a moral compass to anyone of any race, color or creed, it successfully bridges cultural, religious and language barriers. And wherever the book is widely distributed, it brings about a safer, less violent environment based on these common sense principles and values.

The common sense moral code, formally adopted by frontline Royal Thai military units.


How many copies of The Way to Happiness have been distributed?

To date, upwards of 100 million copies have been published and circulated in 97 languages and over 170 countries.

What subjects are addressed in The Way to Happiness?

Each chapter includes an in-depth essay that is easy to read and understand. It teaches in a way that makes sense and can give a person the values and understanding needed to make intelligent, correct decisions in life.

Who is the author of the book, and why did he write it?

The Way to Happiness book was written by L. Ron Hubbard.

The 1970s marked a period of rapid and widespread moral decline in the West. The position of religion in society became increasingly restricted while moral and ethical standards were broadly challenged on many fronts. As just one example, in 1980 the United States Supreme Court ruled that a public school in Kentucky could not post the Ten Commandments, since to do so would violate the separation of Church and State mandated by the First Amendment to the US Constitution. Commenting on this and other developments of the time, Mr. Hubbard wrote, "When religion is not influential in a society or has ceased to be, the state inherits the entire burden of public morality, crime and intolerance. It then must use punishment and police. Yet this is unsuccessful as morality, integrity and self-respect not already inherent in the individual, cannot be enforced with any great success."

Seeing the collapse of moral standards and the reduction in influence of the institutions which historically had advanced those standards, Mr. Hubbard wrote a wholly secular, common sense moral code: The Way to Happiness. Since its initial publication, the book has been used by individuals of many races and religious backgrounds as a logical guide to help themselves, their families and associates. Employing the twenty-one fundamental precepts contained therein, children and adults thus develop moral standards based on their own reasoning and understanding of why and how those standards promote a happier life.

Find out more about L. Ron Hubbard.

Is The Way to Happiness a religious book?

The Way to Happiness is not a religious book and The Way to Happiness Foundation International is a secular organization.

The Way to Happiness may be the first nonreligious moral code based wholly on common sense. It was written by L. Ron Hubbard as an individual work and is not part of any religious doctrine. Any reprinting or individual distribution of it does not infer connection with or sponsorship of any religious organization. It is therefore admissible for government departments and employees to distribute, as a nonreligious activity.

Many different religious groups have used The Way to Happiness book, as its simple but powerful messages are compatible with and complementary to most religions of the world.

Because The Way to Happiness is not religious, it is also suitable for any individual, public or private group to use to improve conditions in life.

Can The Way to Happiness book be used in public schools?

Yes. In fact, educators were among the first to recognize the value of the book to instill character and improve the attitudes of students. The Way to Happiness book has been distributed and used in over 12,000 schools, public and private, across America. More than 12 million children have participated in the “Set a Good Example Contest,” inspired by and based on a precept from the book.

In a study conducted on teachers, 90 percent of those surveyed rated the presentation of moral values in The Way to Happiness book as “good” or “excellent.” Also, amongst teachers implementing The Way to Happiness programs, 85 percent noticed a positive change in their students’ understanding of moral values.

Outside the US, schools in places as diverse as Hungary, Lebanon, Pakistan, Israel, Colombia, Venezuela, St. Lucia, St. Kitts, Cambodia, Ghana and South Africa have utilized The Way to Happiness.

Who uses or endorses the book as part of their educational or social betterment programs?

The Way to Happiness and its programs have been used by a wide variety of youth and community groups, schools and educational organizations, prisons and probation offices, drug rehabilitation centers, governments, hotels and other businesses, as well as concerned individuals.

The national “Set a Good Example Contest” has been recognized and commended by Members of Congress, senators and governors representing forty US states and by former US Presidents Ronald Reagan and Bill Clinton.

In addition to the United States, it has also been adopted and implemented by government agencies in South Africa, Venezuela, Mexico, Honduras, Panama, Nigeria, Indonesia, the Philippines, Israel, the Republic of Guyana and many others.

To read some of the many successes of individuals and groups using the book, visit our Programs & Results section.

The Way to Happiness Foundation provides bundles of The Way to Happiness booklets for distribution.
Can people reprint or publish their own copies of the book?

Yes. The Foundation grants reprint authority to organizations, individuals, schools and government agencies for a nominal licensing fee. Copies may also be ordered directly from the Foundation, which operates its own on-demand printing facility. It is fully equipped to meet requests for customized editions of the book in any quantity.

For a free information kit, including a copy of The Way to Happiness and a DVD introducing The Way to Happiness program, click here.