17. 做個能幹的人1

1

在這個擁有精密設備、高速機械及交通工具的時代,你的家人、朋友以及你自己的生存,有很大程度必須仰賴他人整體上的勝任能力。

在商場上,在科學及人文領域以及政府機關中,無能2會威脅到少數或多數人的生命以及未來。

我確定你可以想得到許多這類的例子。

人類一直想要去掌握命運。迷信、奉承討好對的神明、打獵前的祭拜舞蹈,都可說是努力想要掌握命運,不管這種努力有多麼地微弱或徒勞。

除非一個人懂得思考,能夠衡量知識的有效性,並且能以熟練的技巧去運用知識,否則他便無法掌控他的環境。真正「上天所賜予的禮物」也許就是有潛力成為一個能幹的人。

在一般的活動和行業中,人們所推崇的是技巧和能力。英雄或運動員所具有的技巧和能力幾乎到了受人崇拜的地步。

對於真正的勝任能力之考驗,在於它的最終結果。

越能幹的人越能夠生存。越無能的人越趨近衰亡。

不論哪一行,只要是有價值的工作,便要鼓勵人們達到能幹的境界;當你看到有人很能幹,要給予讚賞和獎勵。

要求高標準的表現。對一個社會的判斷標準在於,你、你的朋友以及家人是否能夠安全地生存在其中。

要擁有勝任能力,其中的必備要素是觀察、學習和練習。

17-1.觀看。

看見你所看見的,而不是由別人來告訴你,你看到的是什麼。

你所觀察到的就是所觀察到的。直接去看事物、生活和他人,而不是透過偏見的雲霧、恐懼的帷幕或是他人的詮釋來觀看。

與其和別人爭辯,不如讓他們自己去看。只要溫和地堅持要他去,最明目張膽的謊言也會被識破,最巧妙的偽裝也會被拆穿,最複雜的謎團也會被解開,然後最顯著的真相就會揭露出來。

當一個人覺得事情太迷亂而難以處理時,當他的腦筋轉不出來時,只要讓這個人往後退一步並且去看。

當他們看到時,通常會發現事情其實很明顯。然後,他們就可以繼續前進,著手處理。但是如果他們自己沒看到、沒有自己去觀察,很可能就沒什麼真實性,而所有的指示、命令、處罰都無法解決他們的混亂狀態。

你可以為他們指出要往哪個方向看,並且建議他們真的去看,但結論是他們自己做出來的。

孩子或成人會看見自己所看到的,那才是他自己的真實性。

真正的勝任能力是建立在一個人自己的觀察能力上。只有真正體會到這一點,你才能夠機敏且自信。

17-2.學習。

你是否曾經遇過別人對你有錯誤資料呢?那曾給你帶來麻煩嗎?

這樣一來你就有點概念,知道錯誤資料會造成什麼樣的浩劫。

你對他人可能也存有某些錯誤資料。

將錯誤資料和真實資料分開來,就可以獲得瞭解。

在我們周遭有很多的錯誤資料。意圖邪惡的人為了自己私人的目的而製造出錯誤的資料。某些錯誤資料則純粹是由於對事實的無知而產生的。錯誤資料會阻礙你接收真實資料。

學習的主要過程包括:檢視可用的資料、分辨出真實與錯誤、重要和不重要,藉此得出結論並加以運用。如果可以做到這樣,這個人很快就會成為一個能幹的人。

對任何一項「真理」的測試就是,對而言那到底是不是真實的。如果你有一份資料,在查閱了其中你不瞭解的詞彙,並且就整個狀況再過目一次之後,如果它看起來還是不真實,那麼它對你而言,就不是真的。拒絕這份資料。如果你願意,可以繼續研究下去,然後做出對而言是真實的結論。畢竟,決定用不用這份資料、要不要依據它來思考的人是。如果只是因為別人說要接受「事實」或「真理」,你就盲目地接受了對你而言不是真的,甚至是錯誤的「事實」或「真理」,最後的結果是會很不愉快的。那是一條讓你通往無能的死胡同。

學習的另一部分只不過是把學習的東西轉化成記憶,像是字的寫法、數學乘法表與公式、操作按鈕的順序等等。但是,即使是簡單的記憶,也必須要知道這資料是做什麼用的、如何用、還有何時用。

學習的過程並不只是堆積越來越多的資料,而是獲得新的理解和更好的做事方法。

生活過得不錯的人從不停止學習和研究。有能力的工程師跟得上新的方法;優秀的運動員不斷地檢視他們在運動上的進展;各行各業的專家手邊都有大量的資料隨時可供參考。

新式的洗衣機或打蛋機、最新款的汽車,都需要一些學習和研究,才能好好操作。如果忽略了這一步,那麼廚房裡就會發生意外,公路上就常會有流血災難。

傲慢自大的人認為生活中已經沒有東西好學了。這種缺乏理性判斷力的人是非常危險的,他無法拋棄偏見和錯誤資料,也無法採用能真正對他與其他人的生活有幫助的事實與真理。

真正能讓一個人學到東西,並且能應用所學的學習方法是存在的。簡單地說,這包括一位很瞭解該主題的老師或(和)幾本好書;弄清楚每一個不完全瞭解的字;查閱其他的參考資料和相關的背景知識;找出你可能有的錯誤資料:以現在對你而言是真實的資料為基礎來篩掉錯誤的部分。最後的結果將會是一種確定感以及潛在的能力。事實上,這會是一個愉快且值得的經歷。就像是攀爬一座荊棘遍布的危險山嶺,最後登上峰頂,展現在眼前的是一個嶄新、完美、廣闊的世界。

一個文明要能夠延續下去,在學校中就必須要培育學習的習慣和能力。學校並不是一個白天用來寄放孩子,好讓他們不會礙手礙腳的地方。如果只是這樣子的話,那就太貴了。學校也不是一個製造鸚鵡的地方。學校應該是讓一個人懂得如何學習的地方。孩子們可以在學校做好準備以對付生活的現實、培養處理現實的能力,並準備接管明日的世界,因為現在的成年人屆時都將步入中老年的階段。

不知悔改的罪犯從來沒有學會怎麼樣學習。法庭一次又一次地要讓他明白,如果再犯罪就要重回監獄。然而大多數的罪犯,卻仍然再犯同樣的罪並且再度進到牢房。事實上,罪犯使得政府制定出越來越多的法律。會遵守法律的是良好的公民;而罪犯--根據這個詞的定義--是不會遵守法律的:罪犯無法學習。對於一個不知如何學習也無法學習的人來說,並非所有的命令、指示、懲罰和脅迫都能生效。

就像歷史上有時候發生的一樣,一個走向犯罪的政府有一種特徵:它的領導人無法學習。所有的歷史及良知可能都告訴他們:實施壓迫必然帶來災難;但人類還是得發動激烈的革命才得以推翻他們,或是要用第二次世界大戰才能鏟除希特勒。這些都是人類歷史上極為慘痛的事件。這些人並沒有學到什麼。他們陶醉於錯誤資料。他們拒絕接受所有的證據與真理。他們必走向毀滅。

瘋狂的人無法學習。他們被隱藏的邪惡意圖所驅使,或是完全失去推理的能力,他們難以釐清事實、真理和現實。他們就是錯誤資料的表徵。他們不會也無法真正地理解或學習。

大量的個人和社會問題源自於沒有能力去學習或者是拒絕學習。

在你的周圍有一些人,由於不學習和不懂得如何學習,使得生活脫離了正常的軌道。你大概能想到一些這樣的例子。

如果一個人無法使他周圍的人去研讀和學習,那麼他自己的工作就會變得很困難,甚至於工作過量。他的生存潛能也會大大地降低。

使他人容易獲得他應該要具備的資料,就是在幫助他們學習。光是對他們學到的知識給予肯定,也是在幫助他們學習。僅僅是讚美他們能力表現上的提升,也是有幫助的。如果你願意,還可以做得更多:你可以在不引起爭執的狀況下,幫助他們找出錯誤資料;幫助他們找出他們所不瞭解的字詞,並且把它查清楚;幫助他們找到並解決他們不讀書、不學習的原因。

由於生活多半是摸索與嘗試並從失敗中找出解決方法,因此與其斥責他人犯了錯,還不如幫助他找出犯錯的原因,並且看看他是否可以從中學到什麼。

有時你會很驚訝,僅僅是讓一個人去學習,就能使他們恢復生活的秩序。我相信你可以想出很多種方法。通常較溫和的方法就是最有效的方法。這個世界對於那些不能學習的人來說,已經夠殘酷了。

17-3.練習。3

只有學以致用,學習才能開花結果。當然也可以只為了追求智慧而學習,因為智慧本身就有某種魅力。但是,說真的,除非一個人試著運用所學並且得到結果,否則實在無法知道他是否真正具有智慧。

任何活動、技巧或職業--挖溝、法律、工程、烹飪或其他事物,無論學得有多好,最後都會面對一個決定性的考驗:「你會做嗎?」而做不做得出來靠的就是練習

不練習的電影特技演員會是第一個受傷的人。家庭主婦也是如此。

「安全」的確不是一個很受歡迎的話題。因為它總是伴隨著「小心」、「慢一點」,人們會因此而感到束縛。不過,從另一方面來看,如果一個人真正反覆練習,他的技巧和靈活度會純熟到他根本就不必「小心」或是「慢一點」。只有透過練習,才有可能讓行動既快速又安全。

一個人的技巧和敏捷程度必須符合他所生存時代的要求。這得靠不斷練習才能達到。

藉由練習,一個人的眼睛、身體、手和腳都能被訓練到一種「知道怎麼做」的程度。他不用去「想」怎麼準備烤箱或怎麼停車:他只要去/b/做//就好了。在任何活動中,許多被視為是「天賦」的表現,其實只是練習罷了。

如果你要做一件事,卻沒有把要做的每一個動作弄清楚,並且反覆練習到可以不加思索地完成,而且能快速準確地完成,那麼你就有可能發生意外。

統計資料證實,練習得越少,就越容易發生意外。

同樣的原則也適用於工藝和用腦的行業。律師如果不就司法程序加以練習、練習、再練習,也許就無法學會如何讓自己的思維快速運轉,以應付案情的變化,結果就輸掉了官司。一個沒有受過訓練的股票經紀人,可能在短短的幾分鐘之內便損失慘重。一個沒經過推銷訓練的菜鳥業務員,可能因為沒有銷售業績而挨餓。正確的方法就是練習、練習、再練習!

有時候你會發現學到的東西無法運用出來。如果是這樣的話,問題出在於不正確的學習方法、老師或教材。有時候讀操作說明是一回事,要使用時卻完全是另外一回事。

偶爾,當一直練習卻毫無進展時,就必須要丟掉課本從頭開始。電影錄音這一行就是這樣:如果只照現有的錄音師教材去做,錄下的鳥叫聲不會比汽笛的噪音好聽多少--這就是為什麼在有些電影中,你聽不清楚演員在說些什麼。優秀的錄音師為了做好自己的工作,必須要自己找出所有的問題並且加以解決。不過,在電影這一領域中,也有恰恰相反的例子:有幾本攝影打光的教材就非常棒;只要完全照著書中所說的去做,就能拍攝出完美的鏡頭。

可惜的是,在這個科技高速發展的社會裡,並非所有的工作都有簡明易懂的教材可供參考。但不應該因為這樣就停滯不前。如果有好的教材,就要珍惜並且好好學習。如果沒有好的教材,那麼就收集相關的資料,加以研讀,然後研究出剩餘的部分。

然而,理論和資料只有加以應用,並且是實際地練習與應用,才能開花結果。

如果你周圍的人沒有反覆練習他們的技巧直到他們可以真正/b/做到//,那麼你就是處在風險當中了。「夠好」與專業技巧和敏捷之間有著巨大的差別。而練習就是跨越這道鴻溝的橋梁。

讓人們去看、去學習、把它弄懂,然後去做。如果他們做對了,就讓他們練習、練習、再練習,直到他們能夠做到專業的程度。

技術純熟、快速、靈活是一件相當愉快的事情。但是,只有透過練習,才能安全地做到這一點。要跟沒有效率的人共同生活在快速運作的環境當中,是不太安全的。

快樂之道最好
是能跟有能力的人相伴而行。

  1. 1. 能幹:能夠做好一個人所做的事情;能勝任的;對於一個人正在做的事情具有足夠的技能;符合這個人所從事活動的要求。
  2. 2. 無能:沒有足夠的知識、技能或能力;不熟練的;不能勝任的;容易犯重大錯誤或過失的;笨拙的。
  3. 3. 練習:為了獲得某種技巧,或是使這項技巧更純熟完美,而重複地訓練或演練。

17. BE COMPETENT.1

1

In an age of intricate equipment and high-speed machines and vehicles, one’s survival and that of one’s family and friends depends in no small measure upon the general competence of others.

In the marketplace, in the sciences, the humanities and in the government, incompetence2 can threaten the lives and future of the few or the many.

I am sure you can think of many examples of these things.

Man has always had an impulse to control his fate. Superstition, propitiation of the right gods, ritual dances before the hunt, can all be viewed as efforts, no matter how faint or unavailing, to control destiny.

It was not until he learned to think, to value knowledge and to apply it with competent skill, that he began to dominate his environment. The true “gift of heaven” may have been the potential to be competent.

In common pursuits and activities, Man respects skill and ability. These in a hero or athlete are almost worshiped.

The test of true competence is the end result.

To the degree that a man is competent, he survives. To the degree he is incompetent he perishes.

Encourage the attainment of competence in any worthwhile pursuit. Compliment it and reward it whenever you find it.

Demand high performance standards. The test of a society is whether or not you, your family and friends can live in it safely.

The ingredients of competence include observation, study and practice.

17-1. Look.

See what you see, not what someone tells you that you see.

What you observe is what you observe. Look at things and life and others directly, not through any cloud of prejudice, curtain of fear or the interpretation of another.

Instead of arguing with others, get them to look. The most flagrant lies can be punctured, the greatest pretenses can be exposed, the most intricate puzzles can resolve, the most remarkable revelations can occur simply by gently insisting that someone look.

When another finds things almost too confusing and difficult to bear, when his or her wits are going around and around, get the person to just stand back and look.

What they find is usually very obvious when they see it. Then they can go on and handle things. But if they don’t see it themselves, observe it for themselves, it may have little reality for them and all the directives and orders and punishment in the world will not resolve their muddle.

One can indicate what direction to look and suggest that they do look: the conclusions are up to them.

A child or adult sees what he himself sees and that is reality for him.

True competence is based on one’s own ability to observe. With that as reality, only then can one be deft and sure.

17-2. Learn.

Has there ever been an instance when another had some false data about you? Did it cause you trouble?

This can give you some idea of the havoc false data can raise.

You could also have some false data about another.

Separating the false from the true brings about understanding.

There is a lot of false data around. Evil-intentioned individuals manufacture it to serve their own purposes. Some of it comes from just plain ignorance of the facts. It can block the acceptance of true data.

The main process of learning consists of inspecting the available data, selecting the true from the false, the important from the unimportant and arriving thereby at conclusions one makes and can apply. If one does this, one is well on the way to being competent.

The test of any “truth” is whether it is true for you. If, when one has gotten the body of data, cleared up any misunderstood words in it and looked over the scene, it still doesn’t seem true, then it isn’t true so far as you are concerned. Reject it. And, if you like, carry it further and conclude what the truth is for you. After all, you are the one who is going to have to use it or not use it, think with it or not think with it. If one blindly accepts “facts” or “truths” just because he is told he must, “facts” and “truths” which do not seem true to one, or even false, the end result can be an unhappy one. That is the alley to the trash bin of incompetence.

Another part of learning entails simply committing things to memory—like the spelling of words, mathematical tables and formulas, the sequence of which buttons to push. But even in simple memorizing one has to know what the material is for and how and when to use it.

The process of learning is not just piling data on top of more data. It is one of obtaining new understandings and better ways to do things.

Those who get along in life never really stop studying and learning. The competent engineer keeps up with new ways; the good athlete continually reviews the progress of his sport; any professional keeps a stack of his texts to hand and consults them.

The new model eggbeater or washing machine, the latest year’s car, all demand some study and learning before they can be competently operated. When people omit it, there are accidents in the kitchen and piles of bleeding wreckage on the highways.

It is a very arrogant fellow who thinks he has nothing further to learn in life. It is a dangerously blind one who cannot shed his prejudices and false data and supplant them with facts and truths that can more fittingly assist his own life and everyone else’s.

There are ways to study so that one really learns and can use what one learns. In brief, it consists of having a teacher and/or texts that know what they are talking about; of clearing up every word one does not fully understand; of consulting other references and/or the scene of the subject; sorting out the false data one might already have: sifting the false from the true on the basis of what is now true for you. The end result will be certainty and potential competence. It can be, actually, a bright and rewarding experience. Not unlike climbing a treacherous mountain through brambles but coming out on top with a new view of the whole wide world.

A civilization, to survive, must nurture the habits and abilities to study in its schools. A school is not a place where one puts children to get them out from underfoot during the day. That would be far too expensive for just that. It is not a place where one manufactures parrots. School is where one should learn to study and where children can be prepared to come to grips with reality, learn to handle it with competence and be readied to take over tomorrow’s world, the world where current adults will be in their later middle or old age.

The hardened criminal never learned to learn. Repeatedly the courts seek to teach him that if he commits the crime again he will go back to prison: most of them do the same crime again and go back to prison. Factually, criminals cause more and more laws to be passed: the decent citizen is the one that obeys laws; the criminals, by definition, do not: criminals cannot learn. Not all the orders and directives and punishments and duress will work upon a being that does not know how to learn and cannot learn.

A characteristic of a government that has gone criminal—as has sometimes happened in history—is that its leaders cannot learn: all records and good sense may tell them that disaster follows oppression; yet it has taken a violent revolution to handle them or a World War II to get rid of a Hitler and those were very unhappy events for Mankind. Such did not learn. They reveled in false data. They refused all evidence and truth. They had to be blown away.

The insane cannot learn. Driven by hidden evil intentions or crushed beyond the ability to reason, facts and truth and reality are far beyond them. They personify false data. They will not or cannot really perceive or learn.

A multitude of personal and social problems arise from the inability or refusal to learn.

The lives of some around you have gone off the rails because they do not know how to study, because they do not learn. You can probably think of some examples.

If one cannot get those around him to study and learn, one’s own work can become much harder and even overloaded and one’s own survival potential can be greatly reduced.

One can help others study and learn if only by putting in their reach the data they should have. One can help simply by acknowledging what they have learned. One can assist if only by appreciating any demonstrated increase in competence. If one likes, one can do more than that: another can be assisted by helping them—without disputes—sort out false data, by helping them find and clear up words they have not understood, by helping them find and handle the reasons they do not study and learn.

As life is largely trial and error, instead of coming down on somebody who makes a mistake, find out how come a mistake was made and see if the other can’t learn something from it.

Now and then you may surprise yourself by untangling a person’s life just by having gotten the person to study and learn. I am sure you can think of many ways. And I think you will find the gentler ones work best. The world is brutal enough already to people who can’t learn.

17-3. Practice.3

Learning bears fruit when it is applied. Wisdom, of course, can be pursued for its own sake: there is even a kind of beauty in it. But, truth told, one never really knows if he is wise or not until he sees the results of trying to apply it.

Any activity, skill or profession, ditch-digging, law, engineering, cooking or whatever, no matter how well studied, collides at last with the acid test: can one DO it? And that doing requires practice.

Movie stuntmen who don’t practice first get hurt. So do housewives.

Safety is not really a popular subject. Because it is usually accompanied by “be careful” and “go slow,” people can feel restraints are being put on them. But there is another approach: if one is really practiced, his skill and dexterity is such that he doesn’t have to “be careful” or “go slow.” Safe high speed of motion becomes possible only with practice.

One’s skill and dexterity must be brought up to match the speed of the age one lives in. And that is done with practice.

One can train one’s eyes, one’s body, one’s hands and feet until, with practice, they sort of “get to know.” One no longer has to “think” to set up the stove or park the car: one just DOES it. In any activity, quite a bit of what passes for “talent” is really just practice.

Without working out each movement one makes to do something and then doing it over and over until one can get it done without even thinking about it and get it done with speed and accuracy, one can set the stage for accidents.

Statistics tend to bear out that the least practiced have the most accidents.

The same principle applies to crafts and professions which mainly use the mind. The lawyer who has not drill-drill-drilled on courtroom procedure may not have learned to shift his mental gears fast enough to counter new turns of a case and loses it. An undrilled new stockbroker could lose a fortune in minutes. A green salesman who has not rehearsed selling can starve for lack of sales. The right answer is to practice, practice and practice!

Sometimes one finds that what one has learned he cannot apply. If so, the faults lay with improper study or with the teacher or text. It is one thing to read the directions; it is sometimes another thing entirely to try to apply them.

Now and then, when one is getting nowhere with practice, one has to throw the book away and start from scratch. The field of movie sound recording has been like that: if one followed what recordist texts there have been, one couldn’t get a bird song to sound any better than a foghorn—that is why you can’t tell what the actors are saying in some movies. The good sound recordist had to work it all out for himself in order to do his job. But in the same field of the cinema there is a complete reverse of this: several texts on cine lighting are excellent: if followed exactly, one gets a beautiful scene.

It is regrettable, particularly in a high-speed technical society, that not all activities are adequately covered with understandable texts. But that should not stop one. When good texts exist, value them and study them well. Where they don’t, assemble what data is available, study that and work the rest of it out.

But theory and data blossom only when applied and applied with practice.

One is at risk when those about one do not practice their skills until they can really DO them. There is a vast difference between “good enough” and professional skill and dexterity. The gap is bridged with practice.

Get people to look, study, work it out and then do it. And when they have it right, get them to practice, practice, practice until they can do it like a pro.

There is considerable joy in skill, dexterity and moving fast: it can only be done safely with practice. Trying to live in a high-speed world with low-speed people is not very safe.

The way to happiness
is best traveled with
competent companions.

  1. 1. competent: able to do well those things one does; capable; skilled in doing what one does; measuring up to the demands of one’s activities.
  2. 2. incompetence: lacking adequate knowledge or skill or ability; unskilled; incapable; subject
    to making big errors or mistakes; bungling.
  3. 3. practice: to exercise or perform repeatedly in order to acquire or polish a skill.